The Snake

Woof, woof! I can hear my dog barking outside in the dark. My mom tells me to bring my dog inside. I go outside and call her name. She does nothing. I follow the noise of her barking because it is completely dark outside. As I get closer to her I hear a strange sound. Like a sprinkler is broken. Then I understand what it was. The hissing of a snake. I immediately pull out my phone for a flashlight. I finally get my dog away from the snake. The only thing there is out there is out there is a hoe.

I grab the hoe and my phone and go to battle. It is hard to aim the flashlight at a snake while whacking at it with a hoe. I have had many experiences with snakes on the road, but that was when I was in a car with my dad. Now it is just me. I hit the snake once and then again. I shine my flashlight on the snake. It is in two separate parts! I thought I had one, but then it keeps coming at me. I hit it again… Three pieces now. It’s still coming after me. Finally one last hit to the head. The snake is no longer trying to attack me. There are two things I learned. Always go out looking for my dog with a real flashlight. The other thing. Snakes are really strong.

One thought on “The Snake

  1. A sound like a sprinkler is broken…yes, that’s the sound exactly! I’m going to share that with my husband, who had to kill a rattlesnake just last year.

    You are quite brave, Kyle. No way would I have the courage to do what you did!

    One thought–consider the following for its own separate paragraph. This is actually a conclusion for your narrative:

    “There are two things I learned. Always go out looking for my dog with a real flashlight. The other thing. Snakes are really strong.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *